Parish Pastoral Council

"Empowered by the Holy Spirit, we are a Catholic Community open
and willing to share Christ's presence and love with all of God's family."
The mission of the parish, first of all, is to form and nurture people to be a leaven in society.  The parish encourages its members to respond to the calling to holiness, community, mission & ministry, and Christian maturity.  Within the parish, the Pastoral Council has a special role to help the parish achieve its mission and to become a community of collaborative ministry.  The Council’s emphasis is pastoral – asking the question “What does God ask of us ?”  The Council’s work entails a pastoral focus, a practice of prayerful reflection, and a goal of planning.
What we do:  The main responsibility is to identify the needs, the ideas, and the hopes and dreams of the parish community.  Members are the eyes and ears for the pastor as they discern needs with him and act in an advisory capacity - making recommendations to him.  There exists a shared responsibility for planning and goal setting so as to be a community of collaborative ministry.
Who we serve:  St. Rita parishioners, pastor, staff and ministries.
Qualities of the members:  Members are called to be open-minded thinkers who are inquisitive and who pursue the elements of fact finding.  They are called to be cooperative, diplomatic, and flexible as the situation requires.  They are called to be open and respectful of various viewpoints - interacting well with others to achieve a common goal for the good of the parish.
Skills/Talents of members:  Active listening and visionary skills are essential.  Analyzing and problem solving skills help to accurately address problems.  Follow through is necessary to complete projects.  Team building, mentoring, and nurturing between the Council, staff, and ministries provides two-way communication and collaboration.
Time involved:  Monthly meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of the month.  Preparation time for regular and Ad Hoc meetings may vary between 1 and 6 hours per month.
Length of commitment:  A Council term is 3 years in length and there is a limit of 2 consecutive terms.  A former member may serve again after a 3 year hiatus.
Parish Pastor:
Fr. Thomas Vathappallil, MCBS
Parish Trustees:
Sharon Gierahn, (Secretary)
Dennis Collins, (Treasurer)
Pastoral Council Executive Committee:
Jean Weaver, Chair
Anna Marie Smetana, Secretary
2024-2025 Pastoral Council Members:
Dave Eberle, Myra Fox, Ellie Hammond, Bob Mitchell, Mark Schmitz, Anna Marie Smetana and Jean Weaver